Visiting Day

When my family came back with me to Barcelona from Florence, I was excited that I was going to be considered the “adult” in the family. Although my mom and my older sister have both been to Barcelona before, when they came to visit it was my turn to plan the entire trip. This was weird to me because usually when we go on a family trip my parents are the ones who plan everything – not me. I guess it made sense though since I was the one who has been living in Barcelona for the past few months. At first I was really nervous because I felt like there was a lot of pressure on me to make sure I showed them everything and that they had a good time. Even though my twin sister couldn’t be there, it turned out to be one of the best trips we’ve done as a family.

While I was in class on Monday my mom, dad, and sister went to the Sagrada Familia and park quell. After my last class I met up with them at CDLC – because obviously thats one of the places they must see! We drank some good sangria and sat there for almost two hours. After CDLC my older sister, my mom, and my dad went back to their hotel and I went back to my room. After a short nap I met up with them at their hotel and we got drinks and then made our way to dinner.

We went to La Luna – which is one of my favorite Tapas place. It wasn’t the typical Spanish tapas, but it was still incredible and it was just the thing we were all in the mood for! After we ate, I took them all to Chupitos where we met up with my roommates. I showed them all the crazy sugary 2 dollar shots. They were mind blown! I made them take some and then thought it would be best for them to leave once it started getting busier. After my parents went back to their hotel, me and my roommates took my older sister to Opium.

My older sister studied abroad in Australia but was lucky enough to visit her friends in Barcelona while they were abroad here (years ago). Since she has been to Opium before she had an idea of what it was going to be like – except this time she will be 4 years older! It was definitely harder for her to go to Opium until 3am now when she is 24, then when was she was 20. Since she hasn’t been in college for a while she hasn’t been drinking and partying like college students – aka us. We drank and danced and had a blast!

Unfortunately she was leaving the next day so I had to say bye to her when she left Opium that night to go back to the hotel. This was by far one of my favorite family trips because I felt good showing them around my city for the past months and having them like it. I know it would have been better if my older sister was able to come also, but since she is in Tel Aviv, it was too complicated.

Leave a Reply

